Help guys......gaming issue

richi143

Distinguished
May 1, 2010
Guys i have asus 4870 1 gb ddr5 graphic card.......

my pc config is amd phenom 2 x4 965 BE processor, msi 785g-e53 mobo and 2 gb ddr3 RAM of corsair...i m using windows xp sp2 and catalyst is 9.10 for my grahic card...

The problem is:
Last week i started playing call of duty 6....the game was running fine and i completed about 50% game....
from last 3 days a problem occured that sometimes when the stage was loading, my pc screen usually blacks out and hangs.......then when i restart my pc, and again loads the stage, it works fine again........and nothin strange happens while playing the game and the game runs smooth......

Now yesterday when next stage was loading, the same happened and when i restarted my pc and again tried to load that stage, it loaded but an error occured...........and after sometime , when i again tried to play the game, that stage started working fine but moving about half a kilometer in game, the texture of surrounding started becoming black, the game hanged and automatically my pc restarted.....

Please help that what is the problem??

is it any hardware issue related to my garphic card or some software issue??

Solution
Well, best start with checking temps of your gfx card, also try updating your gfx card drivers. If that does not work you could re install the game to make sure it is not a corruption in the game itself.

If that does not work, due to the age of your card even if temps look o.k you should make sure to remove the fan and clean it and re-apply thermal paste to the gpu.

That last option is the trickiest and should probably be left till last.
Well, best start with checking temps of your gfx card, also try updating your gfx card drivers. If that does not work you could re install the game to make sure it is not a corruption in the game itself.