Sweetiebelleswag

Honorable
Jul 26, 2012
Okay so heres the run down I am getting a custom pc and I am planning on getting a 1TB hard drive and a 180GB Intel 520 series SATA 6GB/s upto 550MB/sR / 520MB/sW

I am new to the whole SSD hard drive addition
And so I was wondering how does an SSD work? and how do I use it?

Do I just have it say as the C/ drive and the 1TB as the D/, then install my more demanding games and OS to the SSD driver which will be the C/ drive and then save everything else and install everything else to the 1TB D/ drive? I am so confused so help is really needed?

There is also an option for am SSD CACHE DRIVE which is 20GB intel SSD 313 Series SLC Cache Drive for system / 1st HDD what is that is that? is that worth getting or is it nothing important?

Custom build specs

i7-3770/i5- 3570 (not sure which ill get)
Asus P8Z77 6GB/s ATI crossfireX
16GB Hypergenesis 2133mhz
4gb Nvidia Geforce GTX 690

Help needed PLEASE ANSWER :bounce:

cmichael138

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2008
I would recommend the SSD be used only for the OS and all other programs loaded on the HD. I have 1 120GD SSD and it's amazing how fast OS updates and all will fill up the drive.

I'm not familiar with the cache drives. Hopefully, someone else will respond.

i have a 120gb ssd and put everything on it including programs and games with 40gb to spare

dont forget if you have large amounts of ram you lose a LOT of space to the pagefile and hyberfil.sys file

with 16gb of ram you could be losing in the area of 30gb or more

i set pagefile to 512mb--delete hyberfil.sys--this still lets you use sleep,just not hibernate

i also turn off system restore and shrink the size of the recycle bin--though obviously be carefull not to delete stuff you

dont mean to

i also open a command prompt and run

dism /online /cleanup-image /spsuperseded

this cleans up a bit more space by deleting service pack 1 files--these are only needed if you plan to uninstall service