Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Ssd for os

Last response: in Storage
July 31, 2012 6:31:27 AM

For my build, i'm considering to use a ssd for the boot drive..
whould 60gb be enough for windows7 home premium plus some key apps?
also, is there anything I should look out for when buying one? I'm Kinda new in the ssd world..

More about : ssd

a b G Storage
July 31, 2012 6:38:41 AM

60GB would absolutely be enough, I'm using the OCZ Agility 3 drive, which ends up with 55.8GB of free space after the headroom is taken into account, so expect a 60GB drive to be similar.

Anyways, I have 12.1GB free still with a few....hundred programs installed along with Battlefield 3.

Remember to change your Video/Picture folders in the User documents over to a pre-defined drive on your HDD.

** Forgot to mention, I have also disabled my Pagefile, which frees up space equivalent to how much RAM you have. If you have 8GB or more RAM, you should do the same. Otherwise if you need the free space, you can also move the Pagefile to your HDD.
m
l
a c 416 $ Windows 7
a c 200 G Storage
July 31, 2012 9:21:31 AM

The sweet spot for an OS drive and a few apps would be 120gb.

Look at crucial m4 , samsung 830's.
m
l
Related resources
a c 311 G Storage
July 31, 2012 2:55:02 PM

A 60GB ssd is sufficient for Microsoft Windows 7, software applications, and utilities. Installing games on a 60GB ssd might be a problem.

Area51reopened is correct about 120 or 128 GB ssd's being the sweet spot. There have been some great sale prices for 120 or 128 GB ssd's (and 256GB). The same cannot be said for the small capacity ssd's. The price for 60GB ssd's is high when compared to the 120 or 128 GB ssd sale prices.

Tom's Hardware usually has a link to daily deals in the news section on the left hand side of the home page. Following the links leads to LogicBuy. The site is a shopping service that lists the lowest online prices for products. LogicBuy just happens to have a web page just for drives: