Sign in with
Your question

ATI Radeon 5770 Problems/Question

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 4, 2010 1:14:06 AM

I just recently built a new PC and everything seems to work great, except my graphics card. At first i plugged my 5770 into my PCI Express 2.0 x16 slot, screwed it in, and connected my PSU to it. I plugged in my monitor and nothing happened. Nothing came up so I thought that maybe it was that PCI slot. I put it into the other PCI Express 2.0 x16 slot and it didn't work either. I turned it off and started it again just to be sure and all of a sudden my PC shut down. It is my first build (I didn't think) so I just turned the PC back on. It turned off immediately and I noticed smoke coming up from the area of my GPU. I took out my GPU and turned it on after about 5 minutes and everything seems to work fine again.

Is the problem with the GPU or is there a bigger issue at hand? I RMA'd and sent back the GPU to Newegg, but I am just wondering from the POV of someone with more knowledge.

PS: The fan was working on the GPU.

Other specs:

Athlon X4 630 2.8 ghz
4GB of RAM
530 Watt PSU Green Series
500GB HDD Green Series
a b U Graphics card
May 4, 2010 1:27:50 AM

If it started smoking that is definately not a good thing, it means it shorted somewhere and thats bad. I could be a manufacturing defect, but it could also be that your PSU didn't have enough power to it (less likely since it started smoking).

I think that your problem with the GPU was a manufacturing defect.
m
l
May 4, 2010 1:30:25 AM

Yea, I pretty much knew it was either the PSU didn't have enough power or it was a manufacturing defect. I ran like 3 different PSU calculators and all of them came to about 400-450 watt power usage so I thought I was good with a 530 watt.
m
l
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
May 4, 2010 1:34:18 AM