Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Is psu gone after only one power up?

Last response: in Systems
June 9, 2010 12:48:15 PM

built a new pc, powered it on one time, fans spun and lights on but no video. realized cpu power plug from psu to mobo not attached, unplugged it and hooked them up, but now i get nothing when hitting power button, tried the paperclip test shown in the video but nothing happens. is there a reset or did i break it unplugging it? its an ocz stealthxstream 600w psu

More about : psu power

June 9, 2010 12:55:02 PM

This is a dumb question, but sometimes it's the little things. Did you remember to flip the switch on the back of the PSU back to closed from open?
m
l
June 9, 2010 12:59:51 PM

yes i did, and checked the plugs were in tight and the outlet had power. i'll take any response, this is my first build and i'm eager to get it going.
m
l
Related resources
June 9, 2010 1:10:26 PM

Also check all power connections on the mobo and on your cards and accessories. But if it did fail, you'd rather it go out now than later and possibly ruin something else. Though OCZ is supposed to be good stuff.
m
l
June 9, 2010 1:38:07 PM

Have you tried replacing the fuse in the PSU plug? Or using your monitor plug in your PSU to test it? I had a brand new PSU but the fuse was actually dead in the plug, replaced that and all good
m
l
June 9, 2010 1:39:48 PM

well i guess its the psu then and i'll have to return it since it will not power on even with just the paperclip jumped across the green and black wire and one case fan connected. just making sure there wasn't some kind of reset or something i didn't know about.
m
l

Best solution

June 9, 2010 1:55:33 PM

Ok, sounds like the fuse in the PSU plug is gone but the PSU itself is fine. So, just need to replace the plug fuse assumin you have a spare fuse around. Or if you have a spare monitor or PSU cable you can use that in the PSU
June 9, 2010 1:58:01 PM