Cabinet with built-in SMPS (450 Watts)

vinay016

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2010
Hello guys, this is my first post here on tom's.
I was about to buy GTX 460 and would like some help from you all.

Here are my specs:

Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo E4600 (2.4 GHz)
Mother Board : Mercury PNMCP73V (Nvidia GeForce7050/610i chipset)
Hard Disks : ST31000340AS Barracuda 7200.11 SATA 3Gb/s 1-TB
: ST3500410AS Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 3Gb/s 500GB
: ST3250410AS Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 250-GB
PCI Slots : PCI E x 16 (I dont know whether PCI-E 2.0 or not!)
DVD Writer : Dual Layer LG DVD Writer (It doesn't matter i think)
RAM : DDR2 Ram - 2GB (However it shows only 1.76 GB)

And here comes the main problem. I have Frontech Cabinet with an inbuilt SMPS which shows it is 450 Watts. (Model: JIL-2410D)

Can i run GTX 460 with this cabinet with inbuilt smps?

Is SMPS & PSU both same? (sorry for being so noob here :D)

When i went to buy it in a retail shop, the guy at the shop said that graphics card cannot

be run on SMPS and they will burn if did so. Is it true?

I have got this information on smps:

info on smps

original pics:

original pic1
original pic2
original pic3

thanks for help in advance.

EDIT:

I was wondering if i could use a separate psu for Graphic cards. What i mean is, i would use my inbuilt SMPS for all other components like- motherboard, CPU, Hard disks etc. and would buy a 300W or more capable PSU only for GTX 460. Is it possible?

vinay016

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2010

yeah sorry brother :eek: . fixed the images now.

Both the case and the PSU need to be changed.. Otherwise you might end up permanently keeping the side door of that frontech open thinking about better airflow.. I'd seriouslly recommend you to spend up a little here as a quality case and PSU will serve for a long time..