Sign in with
Your question

IDE ATA Ultra on IDE ATA connector?

Last response: in Storage
August 1, 2012 5:00:56 PM

Hello,

Thank you for reading this thread, I extremely appreciate it; also thank you for your responses too. :) 

Just a quick question (I hope), I've attempted to search for an answer but, unfortunately no avail. Perhaps it's just too simple for anyone to even ask, but of course, I am a newbie. :p 

Will an IDE Ultra ATA100/ATA-6 hard drive be compatible on a motherboard which only sports IDE ATA 100/66/33?

Thank you. :) 
August 1, 2012 5:35:13 PM

Hello,

Thank you for your response; I extremely appreciate it. :) 

I understand the difference between IDE and SATA, but I doubt that an IDE Ultra ATA100/ATA-6 is a SATA device; I believe it is an IDE device, as the name implies. Of course, I'm not going against you, and I do understand your logic. :) 

I'm planning to purchase a ST3160215ACE hard drive; which is a 160GB Seagate DB35.3 to attach onto my motherboard; which only sports IDE ATA 100/66/33. The hard drive: http://www.seagate.com/staticfiles/support/disc/manuals...

The manual above states it is a PATA device, which is IDE right?

So back to the main question; Will an IDE Ultra ATA100/ATA-6 hard drive be compatible on a motherboard which only sports IDE ATA 100/66/33?

Thank you once again for your response, I appreciate it.
Related resources
a c 371 G Storage
August 1, 2012 5:56:39 PM

If I run diskcheckup on my sata drive, it states it's running ATA-6.

Yes, PATA (parallel ATA) is IDE. SATA = Serial ATA.

I wouldn't worry about the bus speed (133/100/66/33) as much as the interface. If your motherbaord has PATA only then you need a PATA drive.

August 1, 2012 6:09:47 PM

Thank you for your response once again, I extremely appreciate it. Thank you. I hope that line hasn't become cliché, as I actually mean it. :)