• SLI
  • Power
  • Product
Last response: in CPUs
August 10, 2010 10:30:49 PM

TomsCommunity !

I seem to be in need of your wisdom again ! :sol: 

As the title says....

im looking for a new SLI ... likelihood being GTX 460x2 or HD 5770x2 (im a noob to SLI and CrossFire :pt1cable:  )

i5 750 vs i7 860 (or 870) vs i7 920 .... Need to know which CPU will help SLI the most and also stand for v. high quality gaming and lastivity likelihood (i understand that graphics performance is becoming more biased to GPU power, this is where i feel my SLI combo's aren't looking too shabby ...)

And to finalise, PSU power needs for your decisions ... im thinking 750W/850W ?

Its late, so apologies if that was a ramble :whistle: 

Thankyou in advance TomsCommunity :hello: 

More about : cpu performance sli power

August 10, 2010 10:42:56 PM

Apologies, those were the GPU's I was meaning, I've had so many different plans for PC's D: comparing quality-price between the different processers, does the 920 still stand out ? Just that, seems like a shed load for a CPU, also thinking that their different sockets, the other components will be more ? Let's say a budget of 800 british sterling ( this reply is from my phone, so I don't know how poorly this is going to be structured, sorry) thanks for the snappy reply though :) 
Related resources
a b à CPUs
August 10, 2010 10:50:50 PM

Like I said if you have the money go for the 980, I would personally go for the 920 basically the same thing without the unlocked multiplier.
a c 81 à CPUs
August 11, 2010 12:32:14 AM

All your mentioned CPU's are basically equal considering only gaming.. Thus, getting the cheapest one looks more sensible (i5 760 in this case).. You'd definitely need to overclock whichever CPU you decide to get to remove any bottlenecks for a GTX 460 SLI setup.. Should not be a problem though as all those CPU's are very much overclock friendly..
August 11, 2010 5:17:08 AM