Sign in with
Your question

Big noob here wants to know what brand ATI 5770 I should buy

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 5, 2010 12:12:17 AM

Does it matter? I know now i need to get my hands on an ATI 5770 that seems to be the best for my dell studio 540 quad core 9400.
How do I know what brand to get? Also Im concerned about heat. Is it ok to leave the case open and clean it every week with air spray?
Could I buy somthing to keep it cool? point a fan at the inside of my case why I play?
a c 235 U Graphics card
May 5, 2010 12:46:50 AM

I've owned video cards from EVGA, Asus, MSI, XFX, and Gigabyte. All of them performed very well. Ive never owned a Sapphire card but have heard plenty of good things about them. Get the card that offers you the benefits you want most be it over clocking, a free game, a cheaper cost, etc., The vast majority of the cards are all pretty much identical in performance.

The 5770 runs pretty cool so no need to worry about heat issue. I would not leave your case open as that will invite more dust. No need to clean the card every week. Every few months just grab a can of compressed air and clean it outside as dust will go flying.

My personal 5770 favorites
the XFX has a great price and comes with a double life time warranty
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

the MSI comes with a great cooler for Overclocking but newegg seems to be out of stock
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
m
l
a b U Graphics card
May 5, 2010 2:20:00 AM

All the ATI cards I ever owned were either OEM or Sapphire with one exception and that is my 5970 which is powercolor.

There is litterally no difference.
m
l
Related resources
May 5, 2010 2:48:05 AM

Look at warranties. XFX is double lifetime so whoever you sell it to get the same warranty.