Is it really difficult to take out pre built gts240 card and replace ?

resinmage

Distinguished
May 4, 2010
Is it simple enough to turn everything off unplug stuff and install a new card ?

Also will having a Pre built pc come with Nvidia gts 240 , make my pc incompatible with an ATI 5770 vid card?

resinmage

Distinguished
May 4, 2010
woo hoo! im still learning about pcs and how the components all work and they are all in different categories. Im glasd to know I can get the best card for my pc that dell stiffed me for and install it myself.

dell studio desktop 540 quad core9400 5.6ghz 500 gb 4 gb RAM 350 watt PSU installed with 3 year old video card renamed and installed only in pre builts Nvidia GTS 240 OEM

Rogue77777

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2007
Make sure that you un-install your Nvidia drivers prior to removing the card and you shouldn't have any prblems.
You should be able to install any single graphic card as long as you have enough juice in you PSU. The only problem is whether or not your motherboard supports crossfire, if you decide to go down that path.

resinmage

Distinguished
May 4, 2010
no im just wanting the best card for my pc studio desktop 540 quad core q9400 .

I just want to replace the pre builts garbage card the GTS 240. I plan to use it to play games on high settings and i cant even play Just cause 2 above medium right now.

so i need to buy the ati card the 5770 and btw my PSU says its LIte -on 350watts.
so I should be ok with the 5770 i HOPE.

I hope to install it myself and can you reccomend a good drive sweeper to remove all nvidia stuff?

Also how does installing a new card work? Is there a cd that comes to install software?

You'll want to ignore the CD that comes with the card and DL the latest catalyst control center from the AMD website;
http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx
Here is driver sweeper;
http://www.guru3d.com/category/driversweeper/