Question Regarding Programs Installed on a Dual SSD/HDD

dklittle

Honorable
Jul 28, 2012
Hello,

So I have dual hard drives, a 128 GB SSD and a 1 TB HDD, and I was wondering, other than the operating system is it suggested to install ALL applications on the SSD and all documents on the HDD? Is that how the SSD increases speed?

...I'm not even sure if my question is worded correctly, I'm new to SSDs.

Thanks

Solution
That is, indeed, the usual setup.

The SSD will increase the speed of access to anything on it. In almost all cases, this is much more important for OS files, programs, and even game levels than it is for Emails, documents, or music files, which don't need to run fast. The idea is to put whatever you spend the most time waiting for on the fastest storage.
That is, indeed, the usual setup.

The SSD will increase the speed of access to anything on it. In almost all cases, this is much more important for OS files, programs, and even game levels than it is for Emails, documents, or music files, which don't need to run fast. The idea is to put whatever you spend the most time waiting for on the fastest storage.

Solution

eXistenZ

Distinguished
Nov 6, 2011
I noticed that when I burn a data DVD, the facility in Win7 seems to copy the entire DVD's worth of information to my SSD, and then burn it to the DVD.

I put third-party DVD burning software on D:\program files (x86) in order to avoid filling up the SSD with something that is going to take 7 minutes to complete anyway.

Thoughts?

eXistenZ

It's probably making a copy of the data in a scratch directory.

Simplest thing to try: Change the environment variables TEMP and TMP to point to a directory on the HDD, then see if it's the HDD that gets more space used during the burn.

Or the directory might be configurable in the software itself.

Next time, please start a different thread rather than adding a question to an existing one. Thanks.

raytseng

Honorable
May 15, 2012