First Computer Build EVER! Help Needed!

bassmanj

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2010
Ok, this is my first post so I hope I can relate things well to all of you out there. I'm just getting into the computer-building niche and am trying to build what I think of as a great performing system, while still keeping my costs down (no news there, everybody wants to). Some of the things that may make of this build tough are:

1) I have absolutely no components other than a wireless keyboard/mouse set up, and an old Gateway P3 866Mhz system that barely runs WinXP home.
2)I will be doing a multitude of things on this new computer:
■(very mild) CAD from Autodesk's AutoCAD 2007
■(rarely) recording tracks in either/both Tracktion 3 or Cubase 5
■gaming with new games such as the upcoming Guild Wars 2 or Starcraft 2 (preferably a DX11 card or sli/xfire)

AND THE KICKER: my "vision" is for this computer to function as the center for all of my entertainment needs; I'm confined to one bedroom of a 4-bedroom apartment because I'm in college. What this means is that I'd like to have a TV Tuner in there so that my computer monitor can function as a TV. This also means that I'd like to have the flexibility to plug my Xbox 360 into the monitor with either HDMI or Component inputs and play some console games too :D .

Through my research, I've found that I could possibly gain some performance when I record music by going quad-core so I'd like to go for a quad; this whole build is theoretical right now though so I'm open to ANYTHING. Lastly, the budget that I'm trying to go for is 1300 total, including a monitor and a copy of Win7. Newegg is where I've been doing all of my shopping lately, and it would be nice to order every component over the internet.

I thank all of you in advance!

Solution