Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Upgrading from a Nvidia Geforce 310

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 6, 2010 7:48:37 AM

I just got confirmation from Dell that replacing my PSU will void my warranty with them. Since that is a big part of why I went with them for a desktop to begin with, I won't be upgrading the PSU...yet. However that leaves me with another problem, the Geforce 310, put simply, sucks. And after looking up my PSU, it seems like it is a brand I never heard of "Chicony"?

Here's a spec sheet I found.

http://database.ul.com/cgi-bin/XYV/template/LISEXT/1FRA...

Mine is the second on the list. The CPB09 001B. It looks like it has multiple 12V rails. Sorry if I get the terminology wrong, I'm VERY new to this PSU stuff. At first i thought I could just go off of the wattage but I was informed otherwise. Now, if it has multiple 12V rails, do I go off of the highest amp or combine all the amps to get the total?

Simply, do I have a 18.7A limit or a 38.8A limit? If it's the first, then thanks for your help and I will end my search now. If the later, that leaves me with some choices.

Granted, it is a 350w power supply no one has heard of, I read that a 9800 GT can run on a 350 granted it have at least 30 A on the 12V rails. Honestly, i just want something that out performs the Geforce 310 that came with this PC but does not require a PSU upgrade, at least... not until my warranty is up...

Going off of this stickied topic in the PSU boards:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/279391-28-power-requi...

The following cards should work with my PSU, if it's putting out 38.8 amps

Radeon HD 5670 (Redwood) 1GB 128-bit GDDR5

Radeon HD 4670 1GB 128-bit DDR3

GeForce 9800GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3

There are a few more but they are even lower power than these. I know they are not cutting edge but my PC can't do cutting edge right now. Now to the actual reason this topic was born, which of the above cards would be best for me? Here are my specs