naturalrhythm

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2010
Hi, I'm looking for some help with a new gaming build. I'm inexperienced, this is my first build, and I would like any advice that you can give me. All prices are in Canadian Dollars.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Already own a 22 inch LCD monitor.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: www.tigerdirect.ca

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: Canada

PARTS PREFERENCES: Prefer AMD CPUs but other than that it just comes down to the best bang for the buck.

OVERCLOCKING: No

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Possibly in the future.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680 x 1050

This is what I have so far:

CPU:

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition AM3 CPU HDZ965FBGMBOX - 3.40GHz, Socket AM3, 6MB Cache, 2000MHz (4000 MT/s) FSB, Retail, Processor with Fan

Motherboard and RAM Combination:

MSI NF750-G55 Motherboard & Corsair Dominator PC10666 RAM Bundle

GPU:

EVGA 012-P3-1470-AR GeForce GTX 470 Video Card - 1280MB GDDR5, PCI-Express 2.0, Dual DVI, HDMI, SLI, DirectX 11

Honestly one of the reasons I selected this card was because there is a deal on right now where it comes with Just Cause 2 (which is an awesome game.)

The page with the list of all the GPUs that this deal includes is here

Case:

Cooler Master CM690 ATX Mid-Tower Case

Now, I've been reading that, although being quite good, the graphics card that I've selected gets quite hot. Therefore I'm just wondering if perhaps I should pay more for this case which has more fans:

NZXT Tempest ATX Mid-Tower Case - Clear Sides, Front USB, eSATA Ports

PSU:

Ultra LSP750 750-Watt Power Supply - ATX, SATA-Ready, SLI-Ready, 135mm Fan, Lifetime Warranty

I was a bit lost when trying to decide on what wattage to select for a PSU. The reviews for this one are good, but I'm still not sure if it has the correct amount of power.

Hard Drive:

Western Digital WD15EARS Caviar Green Hard Drive - 1.5TB, 3.5", SATA-3G

Optical Drive

Lite-On IHDP118-04 Internal DVD Drive - DVD-ROM 18x, CD-ROM 48x, IDE (OEM)