E8400 High Idle Tempreture

xy0n28

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2010
Hey All,

I'm currently set up with a stock e8400 with a XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler. I was never concerned with CPU temps before, but I recently got the idea to try to start overclocking, and I noticed my readings with Real Temp while my PC being idle was 50°C; and close to 67°C when I run the Prime 95 sensory test on Real Temps.

I did some reading and saw my temps were waaaay too hot, even for an e8400 on stock cooling.

Thus, is there any way I can fix this? What are the usual causes for such a high idle temp? Is it safe to ignore and try to overclock my processor anyway? And at what temp should I start to worry about my processor melting or something?

I am a computer novice so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

D

Deleted member 217926

That is crazy hot. You may need to reseat your heatsink. You also need to reapply thermal paste when you do.
Overclocked to 3.6 I idle at 28/29C and hardly ever go over the mid 50s even at load for hours. I think your cooler is actually higher rated than mine too.

I think that you can get the Xig with either push-pin mounting or a backing plate. If your cooler uses push-pin mounting, make sure it is mounted correctly.

What kind of case do you have? A case with poor airflow through it will not remove the heat that the cooler extracts from the CPU.

Last, what's the ambient air temp?

I ran P95 on my E8400 at stock for 6 hours few days ago and my cores barely crossed 20 deg! When i boot my PC shows 7 deg on both the cores on real temp. Is this normal?

@OP: I think your TIM has dried up. Get a new TIM and reapply.

rawoysters

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2009
I agree with the rest, that is really hot. I have an E8400 running at 4g with an Artic Freezer Pro and it idles at 27C and never goes above 35C.

hundredislandsboy

Distinguished