Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Noob question Hooking up PC to TV with sound! HELP

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 6, 2010 5:49:42 PM

I'm totally new to this hooking my PC up to my TV but I would love to do this since I have a lot of movies on my computer and instead of wasting DVDs and converting times to get them to play on my DVD player I would love to just view them on my 42" Sylvania LC420SS8 1080P LCD TV and my video card is a MSI Nvidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB. The card has Two DVI ports (one being used obviously on my pc monitor) and one free as well as an S-Video output.

My TV has two HDMI ports so if i'm not mistaken I can just use a DVI(Male)toHDMI(MALE) cable to connect the video to my TV...but I'm not sure but I don't think those cables can carry audio. I need to know what audio cable I need to run from my PC to my TV i'm totally unsure since I have onboard audio from an ASUS M2N32 SLI Deluxe motherboard so there's 6 colored outputs on the back.

Any help would be appreciated....and let me know if i'm correct that a DVI-HDMI cable should work?? My TV supports 1080P and also has a VGA port. Just unsure on how to hookup the audio.

Thanks guys!
May 6, 2010 5:59:51 PM

I have not had much experience with running HDMI through an Nvidia card (i know how to do it on ATI) but I believe it may require an extra motherboard connection to your GPU, called SPDIF. The cable needed would have been included with your card, if your card has that option.

If you don't want to do it that way, if your TV has a DVI input, it should also have a standard audio input with it (small headphone jack type connection). You can run a cable from your onboard sound (where you plug in your PC speakers) to that input, and the sound should work over your TV speakers the same way they worked over your PC speakers.
May 6, 2010 6:08:23 PM