Flumoxed about a graphics card and CS5

Hello,

I am totally flumoxed about what graphics card to buy with my newly configured Dell computer.

The basics are:

Intel Core i7-975
12 GB Tri Channel Memory
1 TB hard drive
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

I am a photographer processing multiple HDR photos at one time using Photoshop CS5 and Photomatix, as well as using other graphic intensive software like Corel Painter X1 and Lightroom. I would also like to use the 3D and animation capabilities in the new Photoshop CS5. I've seen the list of Adobe tested cards but it's STILL not clear to me how to proceed. I read somewhere on your site that there 3 tiers under which you can run PHOTOSHOP CS5 depending on your graphics card capabilities. I'm hoping to have all three tiers available to me.

Here are a couple of the choices the Dell site offers:

ATI Radeon HD 5450
ATI Radeon HD 5670
ATI Radeon HD 5870
nVidia GeForce GTX 240
nVidia GeForce GTX 260

But, I'm not above just buying the system without a graphics card and then getting what I want after market so any other suggestions?

BTW I do not do any gaming.

Thank you.
8 answers Last reply
More about flumoxed graphics card
  1. Hmm, the new Adobe CS5 has exclusive GPU support from Nvidia for encoding videos. You might want to consider one of the Nvidia cards.

GTX 240 will be a bit too weak, but GTX 260 will be good.
  2. Firstly, the i7 975 is an improper choice at this time.. If you can shell out that much cash than a 6 core i7 980X is the way to go( Personally, for that much cash i'd get an i7 930, a 160 GB intel SSD and two 1TB 7200RPM hard drives).. About the video card, if you need to get one of the dell offerings, then i'd suggest the GTX 260..
  3. Emperus said: