New MB - Keyboard not working

sdf824

Distinguished
Aug 12, 2010
I should probably mention that this is my first attempt at building a PC - so my experience and knowledge are sketchy at best. It's possible that I've overlooked something very basic.

Anyways, here's the problem: booted this baby up for the first time, and am presented with the title screen for the MB. Unfortunately I can't go any further as the keyboard doesn't seem to be responding. It DOES appear to be getting power, as I see the green lights flash when it first powers on - but then nothing. The keyboard is connected via a PS/2 port - I am gonna try to get my hands on a USB keyboard later today to see if that works. Any suggestions would be helpful!

This is the motherboard I'm using, if it helps. The keyboard is just a very bare bones standard dell.
http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=7vTrhQ6JvyI0MitJ&content=specifications

damasvara

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2010
That's odd... I assume first boot is the first time you turn on the power after you finish connecting the components together.

My best guess is, you probably put the keyboard at the wrong PS/2 port (for the mouse). I've had this experience before, it's dumb, I know...

Second guess, the keyboard is faulty. There are 2 ways to check this, use the keyboard on another PC (your friend's maybe) and use the USB one (again, your friend's to borrow :D)

Hope this helps!

sdf824

Distinguished
Aug 12, 2010
Appreciate the suggestions - as I said before, I don't have the highest faith in my aptitude here, and I don't consider any suggestions too silly. Unfortunately I can confirm that neither is the case. The keyboard with the PS/2 port is one that I regularly use for another PC and I know for a fact that it works fine. It was also definitely in the correct port.