tanxsora

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2010
First I wanna say that im new to the toms hardware forum but I have read many articles in the past 8 months since building my first system and have loved them all.

So that being said, since I have gotten more comfortable with my system I decided to get speedfan so I could lower fan speeds and make my system a little quieter, and where it shows the voltages on the psu rails the 12 volt rail only reads out 4 volts, and sometimes saying 4.8V.

So my question is, is this normal? Is there something wrong that it would be saying this? the 5 volt rail is showing 5.05V and the 3.3 is reading out 0. I don't have a video card and the only thing extra I have is an asus dvd burner. So are those readings normal? Thanks in advance!

Solution
I've found that speedfan represents voltages wrongly on the 12v rail for some reason on certain motherboards, try HWMonitor instead, I've found it to be more accurate than speedfan when it comes to voltage representation, I don't think it allows for fanspeed adustments though but it doesn't require installation.

hairystuff

Distinguished
I've found that speedfan represents voltages wrongly on the 12v rail for some reason on certain motherboards, try HWMonitor instead, I've found it to be more accurate than speedfan when it comes to voltage representation, I don't think it allows for fanspeed adustments though but it doesn't require installation.

Solution

Have you checked to see if you CPU fan speed can modified in the BIOS?

tanxsora

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2010
I used hwmonitor (already had it just never used because it couldnt control fan speed) and sure enough it reported everything was fine. And @jitpublisher, I believe my BIOS has the option but I usually only turn the speed down when im watching a movie else I have them full blast so it would be inconvenient to restart every time I wished to watch something.