$1000 College PC, gaming and multimedia

9t9redballoons

Distinguished
Jun 14, 2010
It's my first time posting here so sorry if I'm not asking the right questions...or asking for the impossible.

I'm a wannabe tech geek who loves new technology but has never really had the money for it, until now. Now I have around $1000 to spend on a new computer.

Have you ever felt like you've absorbed half the internet in research? Upon discovering this website and trying to process and sort through all benchmarks that are up, my brain has turned to mush. That being said, I was hoping people in the forum could help get me sorted out. :)

So again, my typical uses include web surfing, music, videos, email, and gaming (at least, I hope to get back into gaming, which was quite painful with Vista, 2gb ram, and a geforce 7000m. On a laptop.) I also run music writing software and Flash stuff.

What I want is a computer that runs smoothly and can deal with me playing games with pretty good graphics on top of my email loading, 10 open folders, several open Excel and Word documents, a video encoding in the background, and 50+ tabs open in Chrome, without me having to wait 2 minutes switching between applications and whatnot.

So.

CPU: I would loveee an i7 but I'm not sure if I'd use it anywhere near it's full potential, so do you think I would go well with an i5, considering my usage especially gaming? And dual or quad core? Alternatively, my brother found me a $150 AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition (3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor). How does that all stack up? And I'm not all that hard-core so I'm not planning on overclocking it in the near future, since I'll need the warranty to last.