June 16, 2010 12:35:56 AM

Hi,
Putting together my new rig today. One question:
My Asus P7P55D-E mobo has 6 fan sockets. They are:
4 pin CPU fan
4 pin chassis 1 fan
3 pin chassis 2 fan
3 pin pwr fan

Now, I have my CPU fan all hooked up and ready to go. Now, I have three 3 pin fan connectors, and only two 3 pin sockets on the mobo. I hooked it up so it all works, but my rear fan has nothing to plug into, as closest fan socket (chassis 1 fan) is 4 pin.

I also have some devices that look like this:
http://www.pcsilent.de/ppic-MAXI--525molex3.jpg
Is there some way to hook up my 3 pin fan to the 4 pin chassis 1 fan connector?
Is this mysterious wiring harness the answer to my problems?
Help me out! Thanks!

a b B Homebuilt system
a b Ĉ ASUS
a c 120 à CPUs
June 16, 2010 1:09:30 AM

Yep! link some of your fans into molex.
I have 6 mobo fan sockets 3 are free still.
5 chassis fans 4 linked in molex one on mobo socket.
HSF is push/pull and i use 2 mobo sockets.
Btw i'm no expert on this matter and i'm sure my configuration could be improved with some expert input.
All my case fans were prewired and powered up through my psu molex.
How many fans are you trying to hook -up?
Btw the top set-up is an Antec 902.
On my CM 690II Basic it came with an intake and rear exhaust no problems.
I've added side and top exhaust also.
If i recall the only mobo sockets i used were for the cpu cooler and the side fan.
Everything else i powered with molex.
m
l
June 16, 2010 1:21:38 AM

How exactly do I do that?

I plug the 3 pin plug from the adapter into the mobo. Ok. Then I plug a psu molex adapter into the female molex adapter. This leaves me with two fans to hook up and one male molex adapter connected to the PSU and mobo. What now?

Thanks!
m
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
a b Ĉ ASUS
a c 120 à CPUs
June 16, 2010 1:38:17 AM

What psu do you have?mine came with 8 4 pin adapters
Cuz if you get everything in position right you can easily daisy chain 4 pin connections.