New post problems after gfx upgrade

promoth

Distinguished
May 20, 2009
I recently upgraded my video card from a 9800GT energy efficient model to a HD 5770. I had no issues before the upgrade.

Now when I turn on my computer it will be sit there and turn the hdd led on and off. Sometimes if I let it sit it will post, other times I have to turn it off and back on again quickly and it works normally. Is this a under powered psu issue?
The 9800GT EE draws a max of 75 watts and the new 5770 should be drawing a max of 108 watts.
But I figure that before posting the video card should basically be idle at 18 watts.

I have been using this CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX for about 6 months.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139003

eXtreme psu calc said I will be drawing around 290 watts when gaming.
I have three hard drives, one caviar black, one caviar green and a spinpoint F3. I looked into delaying spin up but none of them support it. Any ideas?

Totempole

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2009

I had similar problem with my upgrade from a 9600 GT to a 4870 a while back.
I had a Gigabyte 470 watt PSU so I thought that was the problem and upgraded to
a 750Watt Aopen... Same problem.

Basically I found that If I adjusted my 4870 slightly higher or lower by a few mm, it
solved the problem. Corsair Power supplies are very good and a 5770 draws substantially less power than a 4870, so there's no reason why it could be your PSU.

promoth

Distinguished
May 20, 2009

Totempole

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2009
No, moving it in and and out of the slot wouldn't be a good idea. Just give the card a very slight lift or drop eg. 1mm up towards the PSU or 1mm down towards the bottom of the case. Or better still, remove the card completely and re-seat it back into the motherboard.
You could also try dusting out your PCI-E Slot with a fine-bristle paint brush.

As for the LED blinking, I'm not sure. I know the 4870 has 4x Diagnostic LEDs at the back, but I don't think the 5770 has them.