LED Case Light Modding

Hello all, I've currently got a SilverStone Raven RV01, and want to change the stock blue LEDs to red, like so.

p9291273.jpg

This is what the LEDs look like when you open up the case.

image0015i.jpg

I've never done any real case modding before, I suppose this is very light but any direction would be much appreciated.

Here are my questions:

1) Is it as simple as just cutting off those LEDs and soldering new red ones on? Should I just cut off the black sleeving right before the blue LEDs?

2) Do I need to find any specific LEDs, i.e., do I need to buy LEDs with a certain voltage or amperage etc. for this case? It's powered by a four pin molex connection if that's relevant at all. Also, are there any other specifications regarding LEDs that I should be aware of? I'm not really to concerned about viewing angles and that kind of spec, seeing as it should light up well enough regardless.

3) I don't want them to be too bright, the first photo I linked has LEDs which are probably just a bit too bright (I want the red HDD LED to light up/able to be seen, came with the case). Is there any specific brightness rating that is recommended?

Solution
Ah ok. Are those LEDs in series? From the look of where the wire comes out of the Molex connector that is 5V, so if they're in series there running at 2.5V each.

That would probably be the simplest option for you, to buy 3.3 or 2.5V LEDs and run them in series from the 5V supply. That was your not wasting energy with a resistor =].
Hey Lmeow, nice to see you chopping it up man :)
found this if its any help, they sell green led as far as I can see so should probably do blues somewhere on there too,
http://www.directron.com/bareleds.html

and some handy info to not look up on there :)
Led specs, normal led's use 3.3v
Specifications:
200,000 hour life (22 years)
Voltage range 12-14 volts D.C.
Draw: less than 26mA @ 12 volts!
Dimensions (WxLxH): 1 11/16" x 5/8" x 3/8".
Hth mate,
Moto