garfield_94

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2010
Hello,
I have a question about combatibility!
I have the ASUS IV Formula mobo, with Phenom x6 1090T! i want to buy a GPU to complete my pc.I have ordered the MSI R5770 Hawk!A friend told me, that MSI isn't supported by the mobo! Is it true???
If yes, could you tell me a good GPU??My price range is 200 euros.
Thanks in advance:)

itadakimasu

Distinguished
Jul 16, 2008

+1

The only thing that matters is that it's pci-express and that your power supply can power it.

garfield_94

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2010
Thank you very much!!!For a moment i was really worried!!!i am going to throw a lot of money on this rig and i don't want something to go wrong!
one last question, could you tell me, how many watts my PSU should be??
pc specs are:
Motherboard: Asus Formula IV
CPU:phenom x6 1090T
GPU(thanks to your reply:) ) :MSI R5770 Hawk
Cooler:Corsair H50 hydro cooling
HDD:Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
Case:CoolerMaster HAF 932 AMD Edition
RAM: Corsair 4GB xms 1333 Ram-Kit

I have chosen a Silverstone Element 650W PSU
Do that rig needs more watts?

ps:I hope i won't have to spend more money 1200 euros are enough:p after all i am 16 years old!!My funds are not unlimited :sarcastic:

Transmaniacon

Distinguished
Nah that PSU will be just fine, you may want to look into a different CPU cooler. Good air cooling beats that mediocre water cooling. The CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ is a great choice and you can find it for like $30.

banthracis

Distinguished
That PSU is fine. I'm not a fan of MSI GPU's though.

If you ever have an issue, their customer support is so nonexistent that you'd have a better chance of a having a replacement GPU show up on your doorstep due to a newegg shipping error than getting an actual replacement from them.

garfield_94

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2010
I have read some great reviews about the H50 so that's why i wanted that one!!I need that rig for gaming (extreme gaming if the GPU can handle it:p )