New Motherboard won't boot from SCSI Card

sierra16235

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2010
Hi. This is my first time trying to build a computer. I actually am learning everything on my own from scratch, just started at the end of January. Our old one was assembled by my engineer brother, who no longer helps us, but I have never done any of this before. I upgraded to the i7-2600k chip & built a new system around it. I am only transferring over the Optical drives & hard drives. I actually used the reviews on this site to help me pick hardward for the first time. To complicate issues, the motherboard, ASUS p8p67 PRO has been recalled & I am awaiting a replacement. My biggest current issue is that I am trying to use & boot from the SCSI card I moved from the old system in the new system. It is an Adaptec 29160, with 2 SCSI HDs attached that have the current Windows XP OS on them. I placed the card in the PCI2 slot (it doesn't fit in the PCI1 slot). The 2 SCSI HDs show up connected to the SCSI card just like before & the SCSI card (id 7) & HDS all have the right SCSI ids (0 & 2). In the Motherboard BIOS it allows me to select the SCSI HDs in the boot priority list & shows both SCSI HDs listed under HDs in the Boot menu of the BIOS. However when I try to go & boot into the OS I get an error message after a LONG pause. It says "Reboot & select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device & press a key".