CPU Fan and i7 930 Question

Tags:
  • Intel i7
  • Thermal Compound
  • CPUs
  • Components
Last response: in Components
August 17, 2010 5:30:00 AM

I built my new gaming rig about 4 months ago. It has an i7 930, 6 gigs of ram, and its in an antec 1200 case(6 fans), 750w power supply. The cpu is using the stock fan/heatsink, and thermal compound. I recently bought the coolermaster hyper 212 plus and arctic silver 5 thermal compound. I am unsure how to change everything though.

My current temps with chrome, skype, msn, and teamspeak running.

My I7 930 is running at stock 2.8ghz

Gpu: 42c
CPU: 39c (I think this temp is the cpu)
Core 0: 41c
Core 1: 39c
Core 2: 43c
Core 3: 39c

Case temperature is around 44c, my room should be around 75 or so degrees Fahrenheit.

My questions are: Are these temperatures alright? Should I add the Coolermaster fan? If yes, How do I apply the thermal paste? I'm new to this and had somebody apply it for me last time. And any details or anything would be very helpful and I'll answer any questions.

More about : cpu fan 930 question

a c 231 à CPUs
August 17, 2010 5:43:33 AM

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/258023-29-installing-...

That will walk you through the installation of the Hyper 212+, there is a link to a guide on thermal paste application at the right spot in the guide. The Hyper 212+ is unlikely to make a notable difference in your idle temps but it should affect your load temps fairly significantly and keep it quite a bit cooler.
m
l
August 17, 2010 2:41:01 PM