Sign in with
Your question

SOS - FIrst time builder uncontrollable restart cycle (MSI P67A-GD65)

Last response: in Motherboards
March 15, 2011 5:29:28 AM

Hello,
This is my first build, and I need help. I wired everything carefully, but my system wont post. All of the fans (case, led fans, GPU fan, PSU fan) start up, but the whole system turns off after ~ 6 seconds. Then it starts again. And turns off. It won't connect to my monitor at all, I have no idea what is going on. I don't have much time; this spring break is all I have to build. Please help me!

Specifications:
Raidmax QUANTUM case
Corsair 750W modular and 80+ efficient
Core i5-2500K
G.Skill 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3 1333
Arctic cooling MX-4 TIM
CM HYPER 212+
ASUS 24x DVD burner
SAMSUNG F4 2TB
MSI 6850 CYCLONE PE
MSI P67A-GD65

Can the I/O plate somehow affect this?
March 15, 2011 5:59:17 PM

Ok. I got it to boot to ClickBIOS by putting my memory in slots 3 and 4 (not dual channel). How do I change this? I am unfamiliar with the BIOS at all...
m
l
March 17, 2011 1:03:33 PM

Pretty sure you need memory in slots 1 and 3 or 2 and 4 for dual channel. I have same motherboard and processor and same problem.

You can try updating your bios but it didn't work for
me. I'm currently in touch wih msi trying to solve he problem. Let me know if you find a solution and I'll do the same.
m
l
March 17, 2011 6:52:50 PM

anthony1832 said:
Pretty sure you need memory in slots 1 and 3 or 2 and 4 for dual channel. I have same motherboard and processor and same problem.

You can try updating your bios but it didn't work for
me. I'm currently in touch wih msi trying to solve he problem. Let me know if you find a solution and I'll do the same.

Well I got it working fine in single channel... I don't see a fix anytime soon. I filed a MSI customer support ticket and am waiting for a response. Good thing there is a 3 year warranty. I think we are going to have to RMA the boards back to MSI.