Sign in with
Your question

Is my HDD dead?

Last response: in Storage
August 12, 2012 8:20:31 AM

Hi guys. I have been having major troubles with a new computer I built recently. However, this thread is about one particular problem I am having: the HDD. It is a 2TB Seagate "green" drive I have been using for storage for several years now.

Let me list my current parts:
i5-2500k
Z77 mobo
HD 4850
Corsair CX600 PSU
2x4 GB DDR3
120 GB Agility 3 SSD (OS)
2 TB Seagate HDD (Storage)
Windows 7

So I had this drive for years without any problems. The new computer I built has been freezing on me daily. I am currently suspecting the SSD or motherboard as the cause. One time, after a freeze, Windows had to run chkdsk on startup for my HDD. Another time after a freeze, Windows would fail to boot. I ended up moving the HDD onto my old computer where Windows was able to run chkdsk and fix the drive again. I put the HDD back into my new computer and yesterday, I got a BSOD saying there was a hardware problem/malfunction. Windows failed to boot again until I removed the HDD. I put the HDD into my old computer, hoping chkdsk would fix it again. Nope, Windows would not boot on my old computer this time. I got an external HDD and put my 'broken' HDD into the enclosure and plugged it into my computer after loading Windows. The drivers were installed and it said the drive was ready to go. The HDD didn't appear under My Computer for about a minute, then it showed up.. but I could not access it. If I tried to open the drive, it would just "not respond."