Asus Crosshair IV NB Temperature

JulianSidewind

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2010
Hi everyone,

I just built my first computer and I'm curious about the temperature on the northbridge. According to ProbeII, it's the highest temperature on the motherboard. It idles at around 62°C which seems high to me for idle. Now, I am quite new at this, so is that normal for an idle temperature? A friend of mine has this same motherboard and CPU, but uses a 3rd party CPU cooler and his NB temperature is (if i remember correctly) about 10°C lower than mine, and his is slightly overclocked. Will the CPU cooler quality affect the NB temperature?

Also, my southbridge was at 40°C and jumped to 69°C for maybe one polling cycle, my computer alarmed and warned me, and then the temperature dropped back down to 40°C the next. Is sudden spikes in temperature normal? I cant see how it's physically possible.

Here's the hardware(all running at stock speeds, except video card which comes factory overclocked):

Motherboard: Asus Crosshair IV
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 w/ stock CPU cooler
RAM: 4Gb Patriot Extreme Performance Viper II Sector 5 Series (6-6-6-20)
Video Card: XFX Radeon HD 5770 XXX
PSU: Corsair TX Series 850W
Case: HAF 932
HDD: 40Gb Intel X25-V, 1Tb WD Caviar Black 64Mb
CD Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST

Thanks!

coldsleep

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2009
That seems high to me, but if it's working it shouldn't be a big deal.

I also have a Crosshair IV, and I've heard that a number of people have had trouble with the standoffs for the northbridge being the wrong height. You might want to google "Crosshair IV northbridge temperature" and see what