Memory for current (soon-to-be) set up

G

Hello,

I'm building up a new gaming rig with decent OC'ing possibilities and SLI connectivity. Current set up is going to be:

Mobo: ASRock P55 Extreme4
CPU: Intel i5-760 2,8GHz
CPU-cooler: Scythe Mugen 2 rev. B
Graphics: MSI nVidia GFX 460 Cyclone 1GB
Case: Fractal Design R2
PSU: Corsair 750HX ATX 2.3

But I'm stuck wheter I should buy 2x2GB A-Link 2000MHz Xtreme CL9 for 109 euros or 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz CL9 for same price. Only main differences are the warranty (Kingston unlimited vs A-Link 3 years) and the clocks. Is the A-Link with faster clocks worth it? I have no experience on A's memorys. Why the A-Link is so instanely cheap when comparing clocks to other manufacturers? 4 gigabytes of Kingston and G.skill, for instance, @ 2000MHz are nearly 50 euros more expensive.

Or should I spend my money more on lower latency? E.g. 4GB of Kingston HyperX @ 1600MHz CL8 is 20 euros more, around 129 euros.

P.S. Oh, sorry I had to put this to CPU & components category as Mobo's & Memory didn't have A-Link or Kingston as sub-category choices.

I would go with the Kingston as well. The rated speed does not mean that you can't overclock to a higher speed, and I have seen tests showing that the Kingston HyperX modules overclock well.

Perhaps more important than speed, however, is the amount of RAM and the latency. I would definitely go for the CL8 if possible. If you are running 64-bit Windows, I would opt for more RAM.

Lastly, make sure that the RAM is rated at 1.65 volts or lower. Sometimes cheaper RAM is actually 1.7-1.9 volt RAM designed for the older LGA775 sockets and may damage your P55/i-5 setup.

G

That was actually what I hadn't noticed... Thanks for warning. A-Data's memories worked at over 2 volts default :p

What I still have as a problem, is that I think this mobo has a narrow area of memory options.