Upgrading mobo & finding one that supports DTS Connect

snake2332

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2011
I have been reading around the forum here and wished to post in a couple threads but they were closed my moderators.

Just to get a few things straight before I begin:
1) I have been using DTS Connect on my computer since 2006
2) I know how to connect my PC to my receiver with optical connection
3) I understand that it might be lossy or not optimal to have the mobo encode everything into DDL or DTS, but my receiver is old so I need the computer to encode stuff to DTS, especially 2ch music (by the way, xbox360 fails at playing music, as it does 2.0 only, no subwoofer). I tried to upgrade my receiver to one that does something like Denon's 5ch stereo, but couldn't find a decent one in my price range
4) I don't really want to get a sound card to encode DTS because of tight budget and the fact that some motherboards will do it, like my old Gigabyte one from 2006

I am wondering a couple things:

1) If the motherboard has a soundchip that supports DTS:Connect, does that mean I'm guaranteed to be able to get drivers for Win7 and/or WinXP that support the feature?

I'm mostly seeing Realtek chips like the ALC889 & 892. I read on the forum here that the motherboard manufacturer has to support the function, too. It seems like you would be able to get Realtek drivers and make it work regardless of the motherboard.

2) Does anyone know of the existence of a list of motherboards that support DTS:Connect and DD:Live?

This really only applies if the motherboard manufacturer does in fact have to provide drivers/software to enable DTS:Connect. If the onboard sound chip is all that really matters, I will just look for that.