3D game art workstation getting upgraded

DaveLee3D

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2010
Sorry for the long post, heh-heh. :D

Hi folks! I'm a 3D freelance artist, and I primarily work on real time game art and environments. Several years ago I came here looking for tips on my first build in a while, a nice little Intel Core 2 Quad system with 8GB of RAM, and you guys were very helpful. I've slowly upgraded it over the years (went from 9800 GTX SLI to GTX 285 2GB, added WD Black hard drive, added Intel SSD boot drive, went from Vista 64-bit to Windows 7 64-bit, etc), but my core components are finally starting to show some age. Honestly, the computer is still extremely fast, but when you're working with game art you have to have the ability to crank everything to 100% so you can see your work at full quality.

I was aiming to upgrade my CPU, RAM, motherboard and graphics card in August, which would make a full 2-year life cycle for my core components. But, last week I snagged an EVGA GTX 480 for about $380 thanks to a deal from slickdeals.net. It's now severely bottlenecked by my CPU, so I think I'm going to take the plunge and upgrade everything else now as well.

Here is my current setup:

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Coolermaster Cosmos S Full tower case
XFX 780i SLI Motherboard
Intel Q9450 Quad Core CPU (2.66ghz) overclocked to 3.4ghz with Zalman cooler
8GB DDR2 Corsair RAM

EVGA GTX 480 graphics card (Fermi)
EVGA 9800 GTX (for physics calculations and my third screen)
Creative X-Fi Titanium PCI Express sound card
Intel X25-M 80GB Solid State hard drive
640GB Western Digital Black Edition hard drive
2x WD 500GB server hard drives in a RAID 1 backup array
Thermaltake Toughpower 850 watt modular power supply

750GB USB 2.0 external hard drive
500GB USB 2.0 external hard drive
1TB USB 2.0/eSATA hard drive with docking station for backups

4x extra fans for a total of about 8 case fans
Custom heatshrink and nylon tubed cable management