Sign in with
Your question

What is the difference in Workstation & Gaming Hardware?

Last response: in CPUs
August 19, 2010 3:45:24 PM

So I am getting a new office PC. I am a structural engineer and I look at a lot of 3-D bulding models during the BIM process using Revit, AutoCAD, & Navis Works as well as processor heavy structural analysis programs.

My IT guy wants me to get a Dell system, that is fine with me; but when I price out what I want it is nearly $5,000. I just do not understand why.

I priced what looks like equal systems on paper: one is an Alienware Area-51 and the other a Dell Precision T7500. The later is over 2x as much.

What is different from between a Quad Core i7 and Quad Core Xeon? Why is the Xeon over 1k more?

Why does a 1GB NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800 cost so much more then a 1.5GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX480?

What makes this workstation hardware so much more expensive?
a c 131 à CPUs
August 20, 2010 12:57:14 AM

The Xeon is the exact same as the i7 but it is capable of supporting up to 4 CPUs working together on a single motherboard. The i7 cannot do this. Otherwise they are the same, clock per clock, core per core.

As for the Quadro vs Geforce, I am not sure but I do believe the Quadro will work better with workstation applications due to driver optimizations. I believe other than the driver, they are very similar to their equivalent "gaming" card. I think the FX 3800 is based on older tech than the GTX480 though.
m
l
a c 83 à CPUs
August 20, 2010 1:13:00 AM

Another thing to note on desktop vs server processors, the Xeon/Opteron processors tend to be more power efficient and go with the more cores at a lower clock speed. I'm not sure how many cores Intel has in the Xeon line right now, but AMD has 12 core server parts clocked at I think a max of 2.2Ghz while their desktop is a 6 core at 3.2Ghz.