Graphics card for CS5 production suite

Hello,

I am a student looking to get more into video editing and other post production as a possible career path rather than a hobby. I currently use my school's lab computers for all my post production needs, but am working on building my own computer. But when it comes to graphics cards, I have no clue. I've found so many different places saying so many different things on what and what not to use. I will be doing a lot of work in photoshop, premiere, and after effects. Any suggestions?

Thanks
10 answers Last reply
More about graphics card production suite
  1. What is your budget?

All I know that nVidia GPUs which support CUDA can help accelerate the Mercury Playback Engine in Premiere Pro CS5, although I'm not sure what that would be used for specifically.
  2. Adobe has worked closely with NVidia so I would stick with NVidia cards (Quadro FX 1800 --> Quadro FX 5800). In CS4, Adobe began using the GPU more, and optimized this even more for CS5 -- particularly for video.

That being said, get the maximum amount of RAM that you can afford (64bit Win 7), fast CPU, and (I'm a PhotoShop user) at least two HDs, preferably 3. HD1 should be large enough to hold your OS and all programs -- two SSDs in Raid 0 would be the way I'd go. HD2 is for your data storage -- multiple HDs in Raid 1, 5, 6 or 10. If you can afford it (or your computer allows it), HD3 would be your scratch disk (I'd also put a copy of my backup image of HD1 on this as well).

Then there's your choice of monitors: Eizo or LaCie if your budget allows.

If money is no object, look at the workstation offerings from Colfax, Boxx, or Xi. Particularly the PCoIP option that Boxx has. (PCoIP allows you to park your workstation in your data closet and network it to a zero client in your work area, where you monitors, keyboard, tablet, and mouse would reside.)

And if you're into video -- are you planning to have a rendering box?