Your question
Closed

What do you use your system for?

Tags:
  • CPUs
Last response: in CPUs
a b à CPUs
August 20, 2010 4:03:13 AM

I have been visiting THG for years and just recently created an account.
My background is A+ tech with LLC with a 5 private school contract and refurbishing older computers for sale.
I am not a computer genius. I mainly deal with older hardware with my repair customers and schools.
I use my system for office apps, browsing (mainly Craigslist, Tiger Direct, Ebay and OEM support sites), encoding/transcoding video, light gaming, dvd ripping etc ...
I make a decent living and make my own schedule which is great with having 9 year old daughter.
Money can be tight so I am wondering what people do with their systems on these forums because honestly from reading
alot of posts it seems like most (not all) of the members are hard core gamers.
I wonder if except for the gaming is the community using some of these high powered I7's for real work.
I just recently read the post where the person asked if a I3 or Precision 670 dual xeon at 2/3's the cost would be better.
For what he was doing the older Precision 670 could easily handle and save him alot of money.
I can play Left 4 Dead 2 on medium settings and encode a 700 mb avi file at the same time or play Crysis Warhead at low settings medium resulotion.
Todays games still will play on a P4 3ghz with a Nvidia 7000 series or Ati X800 or better.
I just don't understand justifying the cost of a $1000 to $2000 dollar machine for gaming.
For 500 bucks you can have a nice Xbox 360 elite rig.
I won't be popular for this but this a challenge to see if these 2-3 grand machines are being used for real work and can justify their cost.
If you got the money it's your right to spend it like you want but the way the economy is going you should bank it or invest it.

More about : system

August 20, 2010 4:42:53 AM