60hz=60fps max?

G

I have an ASUS EAH4870x2 in my computer with a bunch of other high end components (can list if needed) and a samsung 32in LCD HDTV. I mainly play world of warcraft and I've noticed that i rarely have fps issues, even in heavy 25man raiding, but I do cap out at 60 fps, have never seen it above 60. In the TV's manual, it stated that I should set the option in my graphics card's setup to 60hz, as that was the tv's spec. What I want to know is, is this what is limiting me to 60fps? if I were to perhaps purchase a newer tv to play on, one of the 120hz or 240hz models now available, would this increase my maximum potential fps? or is the issue something else entirely and the 60hz/60fps thing entirely coincidental? thanks for any help and sorry if this is a total noob question!

jenkem

Distinguished
Dec 12, 2009
try turning vsync off

that'll probably uncap your fps, but either way it doesn't really matter because your monitor is still 60hz and it won't show anything more than that.
but really, your eye can only take in so much, and i doubt you'd be able to see a difference between 60 fps and 600 fps

G

so, just to confirm, you're telling me that i am correct in guessing that 60hz refresh= 60fps max? i know that much above 20-30 fps your eyes can't tell any difference, i just want to see what my card is actually capable of, I always see people talking about getting 140fps playing this game or that and a guy gets curious, you know

60 hz refresh rate means the monitor cannot display more than 60 frames per second. You can get more than that but your monitor will only actually be displaying 60. If you have vsync on you will not go over your refresh rate. Somewhere around 50 fps is probably where you will not be able to tell a difference any more.

Henrik Rye

Honorable
Apr 9, 2013