Gaming Computer - 1500$ CDN

Bug690

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2010
Hello there. I have been a long time gamer, but have always had retail computers and never built one myself. Recently my laptop finally crashed after 3 years and I decided it was about time that I forked over the money and did research to get a computer that fit me perfectly. Since this is my first time, I am completely oblivous to the details involved in it. I, myself, won't be building the computer, I have a techy friend of mine handling that.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Purchase date is within the next month. No need for all at once as I am currently working out of town, away from my apartment. Will shop around for deals on the parts.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming is the entire purpose.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Mouse and keyboard, will buy seperately from the budget.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Whatever you prefer, I prefer ha.

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: Canada

PARTS PREFERENCES: Would like an intel cpu and to run a 22-24" LCD with 2ms or so. Full tower-to mid tower case, as long as it fits it all.

OVERCLOCKING: I've no knowledge of overclocking, but I am sure my friend would want me to do it. Crossfire not sure if neccesary, so maybe.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Would like to run a high resolution, 1920x1200 or 1920x1080

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Everbody likes the fancy LED lights, if applicable.

Bug690

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2010
Thank you very much for the quick reply. Out of curiousity, would there be a lower version GPU that would function well with 6gb of ram and a better monitor?

beerhelmet

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2010
If you aren't going with 4GB of ram, then go with 8GB, since this is a dual channel memory set up.
To go with triple channel memory you would have to go with the i7-9XX guys which would jump up CPU cost by ~100, mobo cost by ~30 and memory cost by ~70 for only 6GB total ram.
More than 4GB is not necessary since most if not all games do not utilize that much ram.