GPU overheat - Windows 7

nadavhalevi

Distinguished
Jul 2, 2008
Hi,

So until a few days ago I was using Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit. Because I didnt format my computer since I bought it (almost 2 years ago) I've decided to do so now and install Windows 7 along the way. Ever since I did so I had nothing but problems. At first, my PCI sound card was incompatible. I saw many other people are experiencing this issue and as there was no solution, I bought a new USB based sound card. Now, when I started playing actual games, I noticed the next issue which is why I started this thread.

I noticed an overheat when my game crashed. I downloaded EVGA Precision and put my fans on 70% (2600 RPM). I looked at my GPU temperature, it was 60C on desktop when not running anything. That's 10C more than I had with Vista. I tested the crash on two games (Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood and Dead Space). The conclusion was that my GPU reaches 80-81C and crashes. It would crash at that temperature with Vista as well, but in Vista it was 70-74C when playing games so there was no problem. This is +10C I can't get rid of. When I put my fans on 100% it does reduce desktop temperature to 54, but games still reach 80C eventually and crash. Besides, I would never keep my fans on 100% as the sound it makes is unbearable. I also don't want them to break or catch a lot of dust too fast. They worked fine with Vista so they shouldn't be a problem. My drivers are updated, Aero is off, file sharing is off, I duested everything....

What the hell? Windows 7 should fix problems like that, not cuase them. I already spent 30$ on a new sound card and I really don't feel like rolling back to Vista.

My system:

Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad (Q9300)
Graphic Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800GTS (512MB)
RAM: 4GB

Please help me :( and thanks.

P.S. Should this be in the Windows 7 Forum?

tstng

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2009