Help selecting hardware for gaming pc

G

After debating whether to purchase a prebuilt system or build one myself, I chose the latter since I've been hearing conflicting reviews of some of the more popular sites (ibuypower, cyberpowerpc, etc.)

However, since I have zero experience in building a computer and have only recently studied hardware components, I need some help deciding if this early list is too much or too little for what I plan on doing.

Here's what I plan to do with the computer and my budget:
- Below $1500, preferably below $1k if at all possible.
- Play recent games like Oblivion, Mass Effect 2, and Fallout New Vegas
-- I plan on heavily modifying these games
- I doubt I'll be playing online games since there is no broadband in my area
- Watch Blu-Ray on my computer

Note that I haven't chosen everything, I just want to know my progress so far.

Case: Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor Model HDZ955FBGIBOX

Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL

Monitor: Acer P235Hbmid Black 23" 5ms HDMI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 50000:1(ACM) Built-in Speakers

Motherboard: MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

PSU: Rosewill Green Series RG630-S12 630W Continuous @40°C,80 PLUS Certified, Single 12V Rail, Active PFC "Compatible with Core i7,i5" Power Supply

Video Card: HIS IceQ H567Q1GD Radeon HD 5670 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card w/ Eyefinity

Solution
You've done a decent job. The CPU, case and monitor are good choices. The RAM is decent. The PSU and GPU are absolute crap though.

Here's a couple of much better builds.

$1,000: