Sign in with
Your question

Computer to just research on the internet

Last response: in Systems
June 28, 2010 4:50:41 AM

Okay, so long story short, I'm a middle school teacher and because all of the standardized tests kids take in Minnesota (8 during 9 months of school for my eighth graders, all performance tests not my class tests) both of our computer labs are pretty much booked for the year and even our library is closed for part of the day each day now. I am kicking around the idea of putting four of five computers in my own room. The challenge will be setting up my own wireless network in my room without the tech department catching wind I'm guessing, but I'm also wondering if you guys can help me with the hardware side.

I have put my last two computers together from scratch, so I have some basic building knowledge. Because they will just be for surfing the web to research topics all day, I'm wondering what basic hardware I'd need. I'm hoping I can use facebook to gather five or six computers from friends that have one they aren't using, or the old one they used before they bought their current new one etc. I'm guessing each would take some minor upgrading but for surfing the web to research, they aren't going to need hexacores and fermis.

What do I need to have, to have machines that will surf the net?

Thanks.
a b B Homebuilt system
June 28, 2010 6:21:13 AM

If you just need computers to search the internet then here's what I recommend:

CPU: AMD Athlon II X2 - I would normally suggest a Sempron for a budget build, but a dual core would be more appropriate for future-proofing.
Motherboard: Any AMD 880G chipset based motherboard, handles AM3 CPUs and has integrated graphics so no need for a graphic card.
RAM: 2 GB should be more than sufficient.
HDD: If they're not going to store much, on the network instead for example then a 250 GB should be good more than enough. Otherwise if all you need is bootup, a 30 GB SSD would be pretty cool.