Server and Hard Drives

Jordammo

Honorable
Aug 23, 2012
First off, i apologize if this is in the wrong category and i am also a newb to this forum. i have been reading from this site for years and now i'm stuck on something i dont know too much about.

As of right now i have 2 computer setups:
1) Hp tower with Intel Q8200, 8gb ddr2 800mhz (4 slots), 500gb hitachi HD (7200 RPM), WD20ears (WD 2tb green drive) and a xfx5770, blu ray reader/DVD burner 550W PSU
2) Intel Q6600 Gigabyte motherboard (nothing special and i forget the model number), 4gb DDR3 1333mhz (only 2 slots and they are filled), 80gb IDE converted to Sata
HD, Geforce 9500GS, DVD burner, 350W PSU (cost about $140 only ram, PSU and cpu are used)

the case in 2 is a lot bigger and can store up to 5+ hard drives and i'm hoping to turn it into my home media storage center. i am planning on purchasing a Vantec UGT-ST310R PCI Host Card ( http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5265863&CatId=1455 ) and am planning on moving my WD2TB drive from comp 1-->2 and adding 2 more 2tb hard drives and configuring raid 5. this is the part where i am a bit confused. i realize my HD is discontinued and i was told not to go with the green drives because they spin way too slow. right now i stream from comp 1 to 2 over a wireless N network in HD quality with no issues. should i go with the WD 2tb EARX drives and will they be able to work in Raid 5 with the EARS drive? or can i go ahead and get faster spinning drives (i stick with WD)? is it also possible that i can get 2 3tb drives (mix and match) and when the 2tb drives fails replace it with a 3tb drive?

i apologize if this is confusing ask away and i can clarify on anything. also if you have any other recommendations please fire away. i'm open to everything

Solution