Case fans on new build...help!!!

touchdowntexas13

Distinguished
Apr 13, 2009
Alright here is what I have...

Lancool PC-K60 with 4 fans

Asus P7P55D-E Pro with a 3-pin power fan connection, a 4-pin chassis fan, a 4-pin CPU fan (for heatsink fan), and a 3-pin chassis fan.

First of all what is a power fan connection and whats the difference between it and a chassis fan connection?

The dilemma is i have more case fans than fan connections. I have heard that you can connect your case fans to the PSU via the included molex adapter.

I have also heard some people suggest that ALL of your case fans are connected to the PSU and not the mobo. This reduces the current coming through the mobo. However I only have one molex adapter I believe.

What should I do? This is my first build by the way. Thanks.

Solution
The suggestion on speed controls (some have physical knobs you can turn or whatever) was based on the premise that you might not want the fans running at 100% all the time. If you're fine with that, then by all means, directly wire them to the PSU.

Daisy-chaining means plugging one into another in a chain. Imagine, say, 3 USB hubs. You plug the first one into the computer, then the 2nd one into the first hub, and then the 3rd one into the 2nd hub. That's daisy-chaining. Another common example is daisy-chaining power strips, where one power strip is plugged into the one before it. This is usually a terrible idea with power strips.

Any time you plug a fan into a molex power connector/converter, you lose the ability to control the...

touchdowntexas13

Distinguished
Apr 13, 2009
Alright so i figured out that the 3-pin power fan connection is typically for your PSU fan control. But I am pretty sure that my corsair 850tx has no such connection. I have also read that I can use that power fan connection just like a regular fan connection, and the fan will run at 100%.

I still have 4 fans with 3 mobo headers though.

coldsleep

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2009