Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Case fans on new build...help!!!

Last response: in Systems
June 29, 2010 6:29:59 PM

Alright here is what I have...

Lancool PC-K60 with 4 fans

Asus P7P55D-E Pro with a 3-pin power fan connection, a 4-pin chassis fan, a 4-pin CPU fan (for heatsink fan), and a 3-pin chassis fan.

First of all what is a power fan connection and whats the difference between it and a chassis fan connection?

The dilemma is i have more case fans than fan connections. I have heard that you can connect your case fans to the PSU via the included molex adapter.

I have also heard some people suggest that ALL of your case fans are connected to the PSU and not the mobo. This reduces the current coming through the mobo. However I only have one molex adapter I believe.

What should I do? This is my first build by the way. Thanks.

More about : case fans build

June 29, 2010 8:03:49 PM

Alright so i figured out that the 3-pin power fan connection is typically for your PSU fan control. But I am pretty sure that my corsair 850tx has no such connection. I have also read that I can use that power fan connection just like a regular fan connection, and the fan will run at 100%.

I still have 4 fans with 3 mobo headers though.
m
l
June 29, 2010 8:13:06 PM

You can buy various fan power cables and Y-splitters at newegg.

Fan Power Cables - hope that works. If not, Computer Accessories -> Cables -> Power Cables -> Fan Power Cables

The easiest thing to do would be to power 2 fans that are close together off of 1 header with a y-splitter cable.

Alternatively, if the fans have speed controls on them, you could get a molex to 3-pin converter.

Or you could get a fan controller (also under Computer Accessories) and run the fans off of that (presumably it uses a molex power connector direct from the PSU).
m
l
Related resources
June 29, 2010 8:26:30 PM