Gigabyte revsions and bios updates

cmartin329

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2011
I recently purchased a 890GPA-UD3H rev 2.1 motherboard and want to know why there are so many revisions of the same board with no firmware changes (1.0-3.0), and each revision has a different bios update. I can't get any strait answers from support. So I hope someone can give me a resonable explanation. I graduated from college in 1979 with EE degree and the answers I get from Gigabyte support insult my intelligence. Remember there are no firmware (hardware) changes from rev 1.0-3.0, but they are saying you can't update the bios from lets say a revision 1.0 to a revision 3.0. Unless I'm missing something the revision process from 1.0-3.0 is all in the bios. So what's the deal, because when buying a Gigabyte board it's like the luck of the draw what revision you get. My board is not even a month old and it's already 2 revisions old. So I am not a happy camper.

Solution
I feel your pain.. I bought a GA-890FXA-UD5 a couple weeks ago and i received a 2.1 revision.. Then i find out that Asus 890FX boards, MSI 890FX boards will be receiving BIOS updates for Bulldozer compatibility but for Gigabyte unless your board is 3.1 rev you are screwed.. They sent me an old board :(

cmartin329

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2011
Thanks for the reply but, the sound chip would just use a different driver and they all right now support the same cpus.
Gigabyte uses small bios tweaks for revision changes as oppose to the industry standard of making firmware changes to justify a revision change.There is no value added when when they do this.When I buy boards form other companies they give bios updates from first board of that production run to the last board of the run. If other companies make firmware changes they change the name of the board. With Gigabyte you don't know what you get(revision) until you get it and then it seems you are stuck with it.