Sign in with
Your question

Need Help With Getting Started (All Parts Came Today)

Last response: in Systems
June 30, 2010 4:39:38 PM

Hey guys,

I am getting all my parts in today from newegg to build my new computer. This is my first build so I have a few questions on setting up the software. I bought this MOBO GIGABYTE GA-790XTA-UD4 AM3 AMD 790X SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard and I have heard through reviews that you need to update the BIOS right away. I don't really know how to do that. I went to the GIGABYTE website and found the latest BIOS update and downloaded it. What do I do with this software once I start up my computer and enter the BIOS?? I am not really sure how to set this up or install Windows 7 from a freshly built PC.

Any suggestions, advice, answers, or direction to other articles would be very helpful because I want to build this PC today and have Windows 7 64-bit up and running
:bounce:  :bounce:  :bounce: 

More about : started parts today

June 30, 2010 4:44:48 PM

The board's instruction manual will tell you how to update the BIOS. You'll need a flash drive.

I don't think it's actually necessary to need to do this right away. Unless you're using a CPU that isn't supported by the default BIOS (check Gigabyte's webiste, the only possible ones are the X6s), you shouldn't need to do this.

As for Windows, you just get everything running, set the BIOS to boot from the CD, insert the Windows CD and restart. Then just follow the instructions on the screen. That's it. It's not any different from installing a program.
Related resources
June 30, 2010 4:46:49 PM

What are your full specs? Do you have a windows 7 DVD?

Generally they ship out boards with the newest BIOS so you hopefully wont need to update it.