Sign in with
Your question

Is it a problem to put a "regular" fan on top of your case?

Last response: in Components
Anonymous
a b ) Power supply
a b K Overclocking
August 29, 2010 4:59:31 AM

I'm curious if putting a fan as in the picture below will be a problem. I'm not overclocking, or doing anything fancy, and the built in fans on my NZXT M59 seem to be pretty good. This is my first build, however, so I'm sort of paranoid about overheating, so thought another fan like this couldn't hurt, since I had it laying around.

Is it a problem to have this blowing into the mesh vent? Will it disrupt the "normal" airflow of the case, and blow hot air back toward the motherboard? Am I being stupid by doing this?

Thanks for the advice!

a c 259 ) Power supply
a c 105 K Overclocking
August 29, 2010 5:16:00 AM

Ummm my top fan in my Antec 1200 is exhaust...........so if yours is as well you are impeding airflow not helping it. If your computer is running hot enough to require that much extra cooling then take the side off and use a big fan to blow on everything that way. What exactly do you have running that hot?
m
l
Anonymous
a b ) Power supply
a b K Overclocking
August 29, 2010 5:26:37 AM

Quote:
I'm curious if putting a fan as in the picture below will be a problem. I'm not overclocking, or doing anything fancy, and the built in fans on my NZXT M59 seem to be pretty good. This is my first build, however, so I'm sort of paranoid about overheating, so thought another fan like this couldn't hurt, since I had it laying around.

Is it a problem to have this blowing into the mesh vent? Will it disrupt the "normal" airflow of the case, and blow hot air back toward the motherboard? Am I being stupid by doing this?

Thanks for the advice!
http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/2588/fandb.jpg