Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Wiping top of CM690 II Advanced with moist cloth

Last response: in Components
August 29, 2010 3:53:27 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to Tom's and I need help of a mainly psychological nature in a tech context. I suffer from severe ocd (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Obsessive–compulsive_disorder). I need to wipe the surface of any object that goes into my room with a moist cloth. By moist, I mean cloth dampened with running water under a tap then squeezed so that when raised, water will not drip off the cloth.

I just received my newly built rig encased in a Coolermaster 690 II Advanced. Because the only preview I have of it was on the CM website, I wholly assumed that the top was actually a matte surface deliberately textured with indents for aesthetics. In my hurry to quickly compete my ritual of moisture application, I proceeded to wipe the top panel first. I was quite horrified when I saw that the watery "stains" produced were quite noticeable, and worse, the panel I had my cloth on was actually a permeable mesh.

This was the trigger for further panic. I began to imagine that the water stains may have seeped beyond the mesh and into the interior of the casing i.e. the motherboard and the gfx card. A family member proceeded to assure me that there is no chance in hell the watery stains could have gained enough mobility to "flow" into the little holes.

Logically, I understand that the probability of it is very low. But I have this need for assurance since I am going to rely on this system for years to come. If you understand my condition, I have some questions:

1. By proxy experience, if you used such a cloth to wipe the CM690 II advanced top panel, would the water be able to seep within?

2. I waited for a good one hour before switching on the system to test it. Everything seemed fine. If water had seeped through it, should something happened by now?