Unable to secure erase - Crucial M4 SSD

sparmar7

Honorable
Aug 25, 2012
Hi guys,

I just purchased a bunch of parts last week for a new build and have put it all together now. Please excuse my terminology as I'm still relatively new to building computers.

I installed Windows 7 Home Premium, but received an amazing deal on a new copy of Windows 7 Ultimate. Last night, I downloaded Parted Magic and installed it on a bootable USB drive so I could secure erase the SSD. The first problem is that when I boot to the USB drive, I get the main menu for Parted Magic - and I lose keyboard/mouse control (wireless). I hooked up an old PS/2 keyboard, and a wired USB mouse and was then able to navigate within Parted Magic.

Now, the default option for Parted Magic should be "XORG" but when I try to load this (with default settings - running off of RAM), it seems as though it tries to load the Parted Magic desktop - but eventually times out after 5-10 seconds and then I'm back to the main menu. I can get to the Parted Magic desktop by using "XESA" - not sure if this is a major issue or not. I tried to search around on Google in regards to this but the people posting about this mostly talk about Linux distros which is a foreign language to me.

Once I'm loaded in to the Parted Magic desktop, I try to Secure Erase my SSD and I get an error message stating that the SSD is in a "frozen" state and that it cannot be secure erased. I did some searching on Google for a resolution for this as well. I tried to use the "sleep" option - no go, still "frozen" state. I restarted the PC several times as well but could not get the drive to "unfreeze". Finally, I booted into Parted Magic with the SSD SATA cable unplugged, plugged it in, and I was able to Secure Erase it. I was then able to install Windows 7 without any issues.