Sign in with
Your question

Best headset - Gaming/Music

Last response: in Components
August 31, 2010 7:21:31 AM

Hey all, I've been looking around for a great headset for a mixture of gaming and listening to music on my PC. I am studying audio engineering, so I have my own set for mixing/editing, but I need another set for gaming (with a mic), that also sounds great for listening to music. What suggestions do you guys have for me? I've read up on the Creative Sound Blaster Arena, but I've had some people saying they're amazing, some saying they're average (7/10). What else do you guys have for me to look at? :) 

More about : headset gaming music

August 31, 2010 8:06:15 AM

I've read a lot about the AD700. They sound like a good choice, only thing to stop me would be I'm not 100% sure on the situational awareness of things like footsteps in gaming, and the quality of audio. All the reviews say the sound is great but don't go into specifics of these areas i'm interested in.
m
l
Related resources
August 31, 2010 5:01:59 PM

The Audio Technica ATH-AD700 is GREAT for gaming, in my opinion. Certainly the best bang for your buck. Add a separate microphone (either desk-based or clip-on) and you will have way better sound quality than you're going to get from a headset.

The spacial awareness is very good, provided you are using something like CMSS-3D Headphone or Dolby Headphone. Do you have a sound card or are you using onboard?

The only thing I can see you might not love with AD700 is bass, depending on the music you like. You could always go with a closed can like the ATH-A900 (I love AT cans if you can't tell) for great bass, but obviously at a higher cost.
m
l
August 31, 2010 6:43:34 PM

The Creative sound blaster arena is an awesome gaming headset.. However, it wont match the AD-700 when it comes to hi-fi audio quality.. Sort out your priorities.. If audio in gaming is your primary criteria then you wont go wrong with the sound blaster..
m
l