500 GB HDD says it's only 139 GB HELP!

Josh15

Honorable
Aug 29, 2012
Hi I have an Hp Pavilion a4302f and the hard disk drive is supposed to be 500 Gbs and the OS says "90.4 GB free of 139 GB. This pc has been given to me by my aunt and she formatted it I think. I will upgrade this computer for gaming but before that i need to get this problem fixed! Please help! P.S I really don't want to have to re-format it because i already have games on it that took a really took a long time to download :cry:

Josh15

Honorable
Aug 29, 2012

Alright I'm reading it right now. Thanks for the help :D
I'll update you in a couple of minutes!

Josh15

Honorable
Aug 29, 2012
GUYS! I just found the other 300+ GB in the disk management. It says "Unallocated" Can i extend partition "C" to take all that up? I tried right clicking both and i cant extend them.

Josh15

Honorable
Aug 29, 2012

Sorry but, I did not understand a word of what you said. Lol I'm new to this. Where did you get the 137 Gb part from? Lol

@Josh15, I see you have already resolved your problem, but just FYI ...

Windows XP was limited to 137GB HDD capacities. That's the maximum size that can be accommodated by 28-bits. To see capacities greater than that, your OS needs to support 48-bit LBAs. This support was added in a subsequent Microsoft Service Pack.

How to enable 48-bit Logical Block Addressing support for ATAPI disk drives in Windows XP:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/303013

Josh15

Honorable
Aug 29, 2012

I didn't solve it yet I have 3 partitions of the Hard Drive and one that is "unallocated" how can I fix this?
Thanks for explaining that to me. I do believe it is 139 Gbs.

Josh15

Honorable
Aug 29, 2012
Im using Windows 7.
Here's the report
I tried running it as admin

--------------
Date and time:
Wed 08/29/2012
06:35 PM

Sector Inspector Copyright Microsoft Corporation 2003

Error 5 was encountered while opening \\.\PHYSICALDRIVE0.

Access is denied.