Puzzling hard shutdowns

revolink24

Distinguished
May 17, 2007
I'm a computer professional, and even I'm a bit stumped by this and the sheer number of things that could be wrong.

Every once in a while (notably, it is easily repeatable by running the digital photo test in PCMark Vantage) my computer completely shuts off. Pressing the power button does nothing, I must first cycle the PSU for it to start again.

Things I have done:

Set the motherboard to optimized defaults.
Messed about a bit with voltages on the CPU and DRAM.
Unplugged all my extra hard drives and CD drive, so only one SATA device was present.

System specs:

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T (3.2 stock reproduces the problem, was at 3.8) (aftermarket cooler, 38C idle)
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
G.Skill Ripjaws 1333 2x2
Western Digital Green 1.5TB, Partition 0 NTFS system drive, Partition 1 NTFS Files drive
All other hard drives have been unplugged.
Zalman ZM600-HP
Sapphire HD4850, reference.

Haven't yet tried replacing known good anything, I don't have anything to test.

Here's my problem. It could be the PSU, but it seems like that should be fine given the specs. Replacing the GPU with a known good one would upset the PSU balance, and perhaps cause the problem to no longer occur, resulting in me replacing the GPU to no avail. I'm running Memtest86 now. Running single core 3.5 causes an instant reboot, multi core 3.5 does not start, 3.4 currently running. Will update with results.

Will run Prime95 and furmark when this has finished and post results.

Any ideas in the meantime?

coldsleep

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2009
What if you leave it for an hour or two? Do you still need to cycle the PSU?

Aside from the PSU part, it sounds like temperatures. Have you run CPUID (or similar) to monitor the temps while you run PCMark Vantage?

Also, how long are you running the test before it shuts off? Is it within seconds, or a few minutes, or what?

revolink24

Distinguished
May 17, 2007